In Sickness & In Health

There are MANY benefits to being married but what is on the top of my list right now is TEAMWORK.  I’m so glad I have a teammate to walk through life’s journey with me.  There are times we forget we’re on the same team but that is a subject for another day…for today we are a united front battling the forces of evil called the stomach flu.

Friday night the kids are invited to stay overnight with my sister, brother-in-law and their kids to celebrate the kick off to Christmas vacation.   Ahh a kid free night, stay up late, sleep in the next morning!  NOPE. We are too tired to finish the movie and are woken up by an early morning call saying, “Grace says her tummy hurts.  Wait…nope she’s actually throwing up now.  Come get her.  BYE!”

Gracie has to miss the family Christmas party Saturday night, my husband Drew stays home with her and I take the older kids to the party! What a team! I’m out Sunday with my Dad and sister and I get a call that kid #2 threw up at his friend’s house and is being picked up. Another one bites the dust (you insert the dump, dump dump sound from Queen’s epic anthem). 

I arrive home later to hear that child #3 is joining the puke party.  “And another one’s gone, and another one’s gone, another one bites the dust…”  Drew has already cleaned up one inning and I get home just in time to take my turn as catcher. It’s a swing and a miss for #3.  We exchange a look loaded with several unspoken meanings- “poor babies, mixed with poor us, with a pinch of oh gross and a dash of relief from Drew that I was here to do clean up.”

We each take a kid to supervise through the night. He ends up with the potentially more dramatic one sleeping on the floor of our bedroom.  I ended up on the couch with the “all-better-wants to help-won’t go to sleep preschooler” and sick child #2 the guy who seemed to be fine after his earlier evening escapades.  This is going to be a breeze for me…how WRONG I was.

 It’s 3:49 a.m. and I haven’t slept because I’m on guard, waiting for the every 20 minute deposits #2 makes to the porcelain bank.  I feel so sad and helpless for my babies but I’m comforted by the fact that if I really need backup I’ve got my husband, my teammate, to pinch hit.  Standing in that bathroom comforting my little boy made it very clear to me that “in sickness and in health” doesn’t apply to just US as a couple but to those around us as well. I treasure the good times we have as a family but I also see the bonding element of going through the tough times and the sicknesses together as a team. We’ve earned our parenting badge of honor tonight and I’m glad I have a teammate!

Oh great, batter up…this time it’s from #3 on the other side of the house.  Daddy’s turn.  I’m going to shut my eyes for the 7 minutes I have before our side is up to bat again. 

How does your team handle the illness that inevitably invades our homes this time of year?  Do you team up or turn on each other? It’s actually easy to do either…it’s up to you to make the call. My suggestion is to choose to be TEAMMATES! 

