Sisterhood

One week ago today, I had to do one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do in my life: I had to say goodbye to my fiancé. No, we did not break up; Nick is serving his country with the Marines and is being deployed.

As I watched him leave last Monday with the other men in his company, I couldn’t help but think back to a conversation I had a couple of months ago. I was working a bridal expo for MMJ and began talking to a young woman about my age who is also engaged to a man serving in the military. We discussed everything from wedding planning to care packages to talking to our military men via Skype, and as we said our goodbyes, she said something thing that has stuck with me- she said, “Hang in there, sister!” 

I’m not sure why her comment struck me, other than the fact that I am no stranger to sisterhoods- I have an older sister, I belonged to a sorority in college, and I have my sisters in Christ. However, as I looked around last Monday and watched all of the girlfriends, fiancés, wives, mothers, sisters and other loved ones say goodbye to their Marine, I realized that I am now part of another kind of sisterhood. It is not one I chose, but I am proud to support Nick and the thousands of other men and women who bravely fight for our country.

