The curtains are too short

Last week I had my first ever real reality check moment. You know, those moments where you realize there are more important things in life?

Every wife fears that dreaded call, the call that I got at 7:58am last Wednesday morning as I was pulling into work. “Honey, I just got in a car accident, but don’t worry, I’m ok.”

I arrived at the scene 8 minutes later. As I pulled up on the intersection I saw police cars, tow trucks, parts of our 2004 Chevy Classic sprinkled across the intersection, pedestrians directing morning rush hour traffic, and my husband standing in his business suit, briefcase in hand, in the rain.

The rest of the day was full of cat scans, x-rays, ESPN, fast food, and Vicodin. I thanked God for my wonderful co-workers and boss who didn’t even hesitate when I told them I didn’t know how long I’d be gone that day.

If you’ve been reading my past posts, you’ll know that the last few months of our life has been a whirlwind of chaos. And that might be an understatement. But that day, as we stared at each other for 5.5 hours in the Emergency Room, I realized that I had been taking for granted the man sitting next to me. The night before we fought about the length of the living room curtains. And even though lately every detail with the house seems like a major decision and a big deal, it’s really not. That day could have been a lot worse. We’re thankful that it wasn’t. And we’re thankful for the reality check.

