Pep Talk

It’s June! Happy Wedding month! This Saturday I commenced my matron-of-honor duties at my cousin’s bridal shower. I sat at a table of fellow bridal party attendants and the bride, discussing every detail of the upcoming wedding from the flowers to the honeymoon. With the wedding just a few weeks away, the entire family seems to be swept up in preparation for the big day. However, as my cousin opened her gifts, one card brought us all back to reality. I don’t even remember which second cousin the card was from, or what red appliance was wrapped up underneath it, but the one line in the card that struck me read, “May God bless you as you prepare for your role as the wife.”

Now, I’m no seasoned veteran wife. I’ve only been doing it for 3 years. But that line, is oh-so-very true. I wanted to stop and whisper the following pep talk in my cousin’s ear…

“Save this card; that is SO true! When your “big day” is all said and done, and your honeymoon is over, and it’s time to get back to real life, you’re going to be a WIFE! And believe it or not, it’s not always going to be easy! Some days you want to throw a fit and make him feel guilty for all of the things you have to do in a 24 hour period.  You’ve got to have dinner going, laundry folded, the dog fed, a clean house, guest sheets washed, lunches packed, and the bills paid. And you’ll soon realize that if you don’t do any of the things listed above, no one else will. Then on top of that, you’ve got to make sure he remembers his lunch, his shirt for tomorrow is ironed, and his socks match. Because he could care less if they don’t. All while being patient, a good listener, always on your A-game, never grumpy, looking and smelling good, and never late. Not to make the husband’s role seem unimportant, because although his role seems to include less responsibilities, those responsibilities and pressures are just as big, if not bigger than the wife’s. But when you say “I do” and sign on the dotted line you are forfeiting the right to say “I did not sign up for this.” As a wife, you become your husband’s partner, and “help mate”, to be there through thick and thin, no matter who’s turn it is to do the dishes. May God bless you , Emily, as you practice your role as the wife.”

