Unsolicited Advice

I am a big believer in countdowns. For me, they make the time go by faster and give me something to look forward to. For example, there are 31 days until Thanksgiving (or 32 until my favorite unofficial holiday- Black Friday!) and 62 days until Christmas.

Another big countdown for me is the days until I marry the love of my life… 277 days, in case you’re wondering. 🙂

I can't wait to marry this handsome man!

As I’ve been preparing for our wedding day, I have found myself on the receiving end of lots of marital advice. Since this is the last week of our 5 Great Dates workshop for seriously dating and engaged couples, I thought this would be a fitting time to share some of the words of wisdom I have received and pass them along to the couples in the workshop. Some are thought-provoking, a few made me laugh out loud, and all of them are valuable. Here are a few of my favorites:

1.       Don’t forget to TALK. Communication about everything from small things, such as how you spent your day to big things, such as how to spend your money, is vital to a healthy marriage. It helps you to get to know each other better, resolve issues, and stay connected to your spouse.

2.       Choose your battles. Is the position of a toilet seat that important to your overall happiness? Both of you will exhibit some habits and personality traits that aren’t very attractive, but the point is that you are both human; give each other some slack and find humor in your differences.

3.       Hang on to your family and friends. Just because you’re married does not mean you should abandon everyone and everything that existed in your life before the wedding. You still need social outlets to re-energize yourself for your spouse. Don’t expect your partner to be you’re everything.

4.       “Yes, Dear”. This one is for the guys. When asked what the secret to marital success is, every older man I have spoken to has responded with this phrase.

5.       Have good sex. (Yes, this one made me blush). However, sex is a vital part of the marriage relationship…
and that’s all I’m going to say about that one.

What is the best advice you received? What have you learned in your marriage that you would pass along? Post your words of wisdom below!

