Disney Gets It Wrong

 “A dream is a wish your heart makes, when you’re fast asleep…”

Yes, I am that girl. I L.O.V.E. fairy tales. I love all of the Disney movies and the Disney princesses and I may or may not have slept with a Disney Princess bed comforter… um, in college… (none of my sorority sisters will let me live that one down!) Now, before you all comment that I should know better and that real life relationships are not fairy tales and they take a lot of hard work and effort, let me stop you; I know all of that and that’s not what my post is about. Instead, I would like to pick apart a different area where Disney sometimes gets it wrong: the step-parent.

 

Most of the time, the step-parent is portrayed as an evil villain. But, you see, this doesn’t have to be the case. As you may remember from my introductory blog post, I, myself, come from a blended family and I have a step-dad who I absolutely adore. In fact, every time I talk about Darell, Shelby just shakes her head and says, “What would you do without him?” and Kylee has repeatedly said to me (jokingly?), “Boy, Nick has some big shoes to fill!” (She’s right. :))