What a Difference a Year Makes

It’s amazing what can happen in a year, isn’t it? Although I’m a big proponent of looking ahead to the future instead of worrying about the past, sometimes I think it’s important to stop and take the time to look back to see how far I’ve come.

It’s almost hard to believe, but one year ago today, I was preparing myself for the hardest thing I’ve ever have to do. One year ago today, I was trying to muster up all the strength I could not to cry. One year ago today, I had to say goodbye to the love of my life.

When Nick left on deployment last year, I had no idea how I was going to make it through a whole year without him. Although we are no strangers to distance (we live an hour apart right now until we get married), Afghanistan is a whole lot different than Kalamazoo! I didn’t want to admit it to anyone else, but I wasn’t sure if I was going to be strong enough to handle the unknown.

Saying goodbye to my fiance.

Thankfully, I had an amazing support system through this time. Along with my family, my amazing co-workers here at MMJ and my friends, I also had the support of some wonderful women who knew EXACTLY what I was going through.  When I posted last year about Nick leaving, the topic of my post was about sisterhood. Ironically, at that time, I had no idea I was about to be introduced to a sisterhood called the Juliet Girls. The Juliet Girls are a group of girls (and a group on Facebook) made up of girlfriends, fiancés, and wives of Marines, and the majority of the women in the group were actually loved ones of those being deployed with Nick.  As we counted down each of the months together, our group grew closer and closer. We were able to laugh, cry, vent frustrations and share happy moments. Today, as we reminisce what we were doing one year ago, one woman said it the best: “In the last year we have survived a deployment, made amazing friends, celebrated huge life changes, and came out on the other side”.

My first meeting of The Juliet Girls!

Although it was not easy, Nick and I made it through this journey. As cliché as it may sound, our relationship has grown stronger because of it and I think it was important to take this time to look back to see how far we have come.

A year ago today, I had to say goodbye to my fiancé. In exactly four months from today, I will be saying hello to my husband on our wedding day. It’s amazing what can happen in a year, isn’t it?

