When I grow up…

Tomorrow I will be turning the big 2-5.

>sympathy pause<

Up to this point in my life I’ve been able to use the words, “when I grow up…” and now it’s time to stop telling people what my plans are and start accomplishing. Now is the time to start owning my flaws rather than burying them under the rug. If anything, this time of reflection at a milestone birthday has helped me realize there are some things I’d like to change about my 25-year-old self. The good news is, I’ve gotten myself here, and I can get myself to where I want to be.

The same concepts hold true in marriage. I once heard someone say that “you are the problem in your marriage, and you are also the solution.” It’s better to have problems that are your fault because that means you can change them, so take ownership for your flaws. It takes two to tango. Oftentimes both spouses are somewhat to blame for an issue that’s straining the marriage. So the good (or bad) news is you’ve gotten your marriage here, and the even better news is you can get your marriage to where you want it to be.

Here’s to another great 25 years of life (and marriage).

