Ch ch ch ch changes…

My 6th grader graduates tonight and while I am very excited for him to start a new chapter in his life, I’m having a bit of a hard time with it.  Is it because he seems so old, or because I’m just too sentimental?  Big change has never really been my thing and this change involves a new school, new friends and, most importantly, a giant step in the direction of high school…which is followed by college…and then he’ll be married…and having kids…and I won’t get to see him every day!!!  Told you big change isn’t really my thing. 

We all go through ages and stages in our lives and change is inevitable; with our kids, our parents, our job, and even with our spouse. My husband and I have been married almost 17 years and I still learn new things about him all the time. How we handle these life changes is the true test of our ability to grow.  Dr. John Van Epp teaches that when change occurs, we need to retain the good from the prior state, embrace what is new in the changed state, and blend them together.  So here goes… my son gets to explore a new school, make new friends and grow into a young man in the next few years.  Meanwhile, he gets to retain his sappy, sentimental momJ  Not exactly what Dr. Van Epp meant, but you get the idea.

