Teenagers

ImageMy son turned 13 yesterday and I can’t believe it.  As many of you can attest, it seems like just yesterday that we brought our bundle of joy home from the hospital and now he stands a full head taller than me.  I am so proud of the young man he has become, but I can’t help but wonder what kind of adult he will become.  My husband and I are trying to raise a caring, smart, strong, loyal, faithful person who cares about other people.  Easier said than done, I’m told.  Despite warnings from my friends about the trials and tribulations of the teen years, I remain optimistic.  How bad can it be, right? 

Instead of being up all night with feedings, we’ll be up all night waiting for the car to pull in the driveway.  Instead of potty training, we’ll be life skills training.  Instead of scaring away the boogie man, we’ll be teaching him about the real monsters of the world, and how to handle himself when they cross paths.  Ok, maybe this will be harder than I think.  In the meantime, I’ll take any advice, lessons or encouragement you can give.

