How Much is a Wedding Worth?

Hey! Did you guys know it’s National Marriage Week? Notice I didn’t say national wedding week– there is a big difference! Marriages can help couples and communities become  more financially stable; weddings, on the other hand, can break the bank! In my job, I’ve learned that marriage and overcoming poverty are directly linked; however, people are starting to think marriage is not an economic benefit because of the cost of weddings.

Did you know that the average cost of today’s wedding is $28,000?! Despite being a woman who loves to plan a great party, I’ve got to say this: $28,000  — that’s just crazy!  I just got married this summer and I can tell you Nick and I did NOT spend near that amount, yet we still had the best day of our lives. Was it because of my dress or the cake or the flowers or any of the other details? Nope. It was because I professed my love and devotion for my husband in front of our family and friends, and I knew from that day forward I would have my best friend by my side on our life journey.

You see, I understand people want a passionate, lifelong marriage but I believe they’ve confused the goal with a “perfect” wedding. No study I’ve ever read or wedding I’ve ever attended has shown me that the more money people spent on their wedding day, the happier they were in their marriage. People can have a passionate, lifelong marriage without having to spend the big bucks. Don’t “buy into” the idea that you can’t get married because you can’t afford a wedding. Redirect your dreams to your marriage, and cut back on the one day event. 

Trust me-I know it’s easy to get bogged down by all the fabulous details you could have at your wedding; but at the end of the day, whether you spend $500 or $50,000, the goal and end result should be the the same: beginning a life with the love of your life. What’s even more important to remember is this: your wedding day is just ONE day. One day is nothing compared to the lifetime of days you will spend together.

