Changing Your Religion for the One You Love

Recently my coworkers and I were having a conversation about changing one’s religion for Imagethe one you love.  It truly isn’t something to be taken lightly and there can be so many landmines if not handled properly.

Not much longer, I received my blogging assignment.  And, as fate would have it, I was given my sister and brother-in-law’s 7th anniversary date (happy anniversary, S & K!).  My sister and brother-in-law dated for 4 years before she decided she would convert to Catholicism.  They were married a year later. 

I figured that this topic could resonate with others.  And so, I asked my annoying little sister (wait, did I just say that out loud?) if she would give me a few ‘pointers’ when considering changing your religion for someone you love.

Here goes: 

  1. Consider YOUR heart.  How will this impact your personal spiritual life?  Will you be able to handle and embrace the changes?  Or will you trip each time?
  2. Consider your future.  Is starting a  family in your near plans?  How will this affect their young lives?  Are you prepared to teach the foundations of your new faith to your children?
  3. Consider your past.  Will your family support you?  A new faith might change religious views, the way holidays are celebrated, social standings and even political opinions.  Will they respect that?  Even if they don’t fully understand your reasoning, will they love you unconditionally?
  4. Communicate!  Debate the differences and do it with love.  Look for similarities in your religions and be respectful of the differences.  Rhetoric can get personal quickly.  Ask questions–even small and silly ones–understanding is the ultimate goal.  
  5. Consult a Higher Power.  Ask whatever god you serve for guidance.  For my sister, this meant concentrated prayer and waiting on the Lord for peace in her decision.

Confession time.  I asked my sister for her input on this blog when I first got the assignment.  She wrote me a beautiful message that simply was too long for a blog.  If this topic resonates with you, and you’d be interested in reading her full response to me, please e-mail me, and I’d be happy to share (yes, with her blessing).

