Just Another Day in Paradise

ImageI woke up with this song in my head.

Last week, Little Miss had two molars make an appearance.  I suspect their counterparts are following suit.  And so?  We’ve had a few restless nights and foggy mornings this week.  This morning was one of them.  I dropped my razor no less than 3 times during my 10 minute shower.  Mark accidentally used the rest of Mae’s whole milk on his cereal at breakfast.  I don’t remember if I used deodorant (I’ve got a travel sized back-up in my desk drawer here at work for occasions exactly like this).

But as I was cuddling with my sweet girl this morning, I realized that as much as these broken nights and haze-filled mornings stink, they really are champagne problems.

We have a roof over our heads.  We have heat in the winter and AC in the summer.  We live in a neighborhood where the kids still play kick the can.

I have a husband who loves me even though I’m still carrying 10 pounds of baby weight…and a few more past that.  He empties the dishwasher.  He vacuums the house.  He’s completely invested in our daughter and decisions we make towards her livelihood.  And he’s been making dinner for us all summer (no practice when school is out of session!).  Eat your heart out, ladies.

Our baby girl is healthy and whole.  She makes us laugh out loud daily at how clumsy her development is.  Her big summer tooth grin (sum’er here, sum’er there) is so contagious and make her eyes disappear–just like her daddy’s.

I am so blessed.

So, today really just is another day in paradise.

