Marriage is a Partnership

Marriage is a Partnership Blog Post

From the time I was a little girl, I have always wanted to be a wife and mother. Seriously, my parents can attest to it. At our kindergarten graduation, before we received our diploma, students had to say what they wanted to be when they grow up. Most said the usual responses: teacher, doctor, fireman, astronaut, etc., but when it was my turn to stand up to the microphone, I simply replied, “I want to be a mommy.”

Before Nick and I got married, I had visions of the kind of wife I would be. Our house would be picked up and clean all of the time, I would have the menu of the week mapped out with the grocery shopping done in advance, we would sit down to a delicious and healthy dinner every night, I would pack his lunch for him to take to work every day, blah, blah, blah.

I’m sure you can see where this is going.

Despite my best efforts, life has gotten in the way. Between our opposite schedules, commuting the hour to and from work every day, and finishing grad school (17 days and I’m officially done!), I’m a bit embarrassed to admit I have not gone grocery shopping in four weeks and I can’t even remember the last time I made a meal. Unless you’re counting microwaveable TV dinners and pizza rolls? No? Darn.

Lately, I’ve been feeling like a guilty wife and not doing the duties I should be performing. But thankfully, I have a wonderful husband who builds me up when I’m feeling down and I am truly beginning to understand this whole “marriage as a partnership” thing. There are going to be times when life is crazy and I don’t have time to make dinner or clean the house. And those are the times that my loving husband steps in and handles the “house” duties. Similarly, there are going to be occasions that Nick may be too busy or away for a while and those are going to be the times that I step in and mow the lawn or change a light bulb.

While I still feel a bit guilty that I STILL have not gone grocery shopping (and I’m going to be out of state with the other four wives for a work conference this week), I know my husband will be just fine and still love me just as much as when I stock the fridge for him. Thank goodness for my partner!

