Built To Last!

wed126 EDIT w mmj“Built to Last.” What car company said this? I think it was Ford.

Everything around us is temporal and finite. Our homes, our clothes, our food, even our bodies.

We also live in  a time and place in history where things that are new turn to old and outdated at a head spinning velocity.

Honestly, it’s kind of creepy that I have an “antique” for a phone I got 2 years ago. The I-Phone 4 is a very sophisticated piece of technology but is already 3 generations old. CRAZY.

We live in a world of constant turnover.  The obsession to find the next new and shiny trinket is almost a requirement if you don’t want to be left in technology dust. Personally, professionally, you are forced to keep pace on this treadmill of the newest better discovery.

I think we will tire of this pace. We will hunger for something more filling and sustaining. I’m guessing this next generation will be a part of the swing back toward valuing substance and quality instead of quantity and the empty promise of the next new thing. At least that’s my hope.

I see this so clearly in the topic of relationships and marriage.  Our relationships that are the rock and foundation of the family structure and the community have now become disposable as well. I don’t think we are as ok with this as it might appear.  The divorce rate has slowed, but the marriage rate has plummeted. People are still coupling up and looking for true love and companionship. Babies are still being born. But people are unsure how to build something that will last. Out of that fear we have lack of real commitment and marital trade-ins happening at an unsettling rate. And guess what? Studies are showing that hitting restart over and over is not giving people the happiness they think they will find. Disposable doesn’t work for marriages and families.

The lie, that there are no long term repercussions to disposable marriages and families, is the most tragic of our time and it is mirrored everywhere down to our inability to love and commit to any version of anything-even a car or phone- longer than a year or two.

I am committed even when it’s sloppy and messy, to keep building and refreshing, and repairing my relationship with the man I promised all my tomorrows to.  I want Drew and I to be built to last, not just for our own contentment but for the stability of our family and extended family and friends.  When we’re built to last we are more able to serve the needs of the world around us- as a team.  We’re going to hold onto the models we started with when we married in 1996.  We just need to remember to take advantage of regular maintenance and updates to keep our marriage healthy and happy.

I want a built to last marriage. How about you?

