Mornings

Guest blogger, Laurie Schadler

I don’t like mornings.  I’m not jolly, chipper, or perky and it’s not even that I need a cup of coffee first.  I have never been a morning person, not even as a child.  I even slept in on Christmas morning once!  My step-dad used to make the mistake of trying to sing me awake only to be greeted by grunts and scowls.  I don’t like mornings.

So why is it I have been blessed with a child who loves to tell the sun that it’s time to get up?  It doesn’t matter what time he goes to bed at night, when 5:30-6:00AM comes around he’s bright eyed, bushy tailed and convinced that everyone else wants to be up with him.  Trust me, it can get ugly.

The word compromise is defined as,” an agreement reached by adjustment”.   Compromise is found in many marriage situations, and they can range anywhere from light to serious. Should you buy Miracle Whip or Hellman’s?  Which direction should the toilet paper face?  What side of the bed do you sleep on?  Which family will we spend the holidays with?  How many children will we have?  Compromise can be difficult in a marriage at times because humans have a habit of being selfish, especially if sleep deprived.  My husband and I have had to adjust our sleeping habits in order to compromise on this issue, but it does work out most of the time.  One will get up on Saturday, the other on Sunday, and sometimes we’ll get up at the same time.  It’s not always perfect, but we’ve tried to adjust for each other, and I think our marriage is much better for it.

How about you?  Are there things you and your spouse have had learn to compromise about?  Was it a difficult compromise or an easy one?  Let us know!

-Laurie